Share |








Awards & Challenges

Baden-Powell Challenge Award

The Baden-Powell Challenge is the highest award a Guide can achieve.
The Baden-Powell Challenge Award really is a challenge.

The Baden-Powell Challenge is divided into five zones, each containing lots of different tasks. You should do one clause from each zone, then five more from any of the zones – ten tasks in total. Up to two of them can relate to County or Girlguiding initiatives.

To finish the Award you need to take part in a Baden-Powell Adventure. These are usually residential events organised by the County or Region for all Guides in the area who are doing the Baden-Powell Challenge.

Speak to your unit leader for more information or visit the Girlguiding website.

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award is an internationally recognised challenge for young members

Impress potential employers and universities with an achievement they know and respect

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (DofE) is a voluntary, non-competitive programme of activities. It’s open to anyone aged 14 to 24 or aged 13 and in Year 9 of school. Girlguiding has joined forces with DofE so you can complete this fantastic challenge as part of your guiding experience.

DofE fits in closely with many of the other awards and qualifications available to you through guiding, in particular the Queen’s Guide Award. There are three progressive levels of the award – Bronze, Silver and Gold – that vary in length and commitment.

For each level you need to undertake four sections; volunteering, physical, skills-development and an expedition. For the Gold level you will also need to take part in a residential event.

Back to the top